Summer Slam 19 – The Final

The Big Night is nearly upon us… the Grand Finale of Summer Slam 19, featuring the winners of the 4 heats plus some wild-card surprises.

2018 SA Poetry Slam winner, Sarah Jane Justice will be our special guest poet.

The heats have seen some top-shelf performances, so you can be sure the final will be hot!

Saturday 9th February

Jive Night Club
181 Hindley St, Adelaide


Click here for more details.

Summer Slam 19 Heat 3 Wins in Double Time

Heat 3 runner-up Riley Kamp and winner Tracey O’Callgahan

Another night of top-shelf spoken word for Heat 3 of the Summer Slam 19 at the Southwark Hotel!

Congrats to winner, Tracey O’Callaghan and runner-up, Riley Kamp, along with all the contestants who battled it out through two quality rounds.

Tracey and Riley are now off the to Summer Slam 19 Final at Jive on 9th February. Click here for details.

You still have one more chance to join them: Heat 4 at The Kingshead Hotel, Thursday 31st January… Click here for details and rules.

Summer Slam 19 Heat 2 takes off

SS 19 Heat 2 Runner-up Kathlharar Hunter and Winner Mika Friebel

Another great heat of excellent poetry and an appreciative audience on a hot night with a lot of other stuff going on around town! Congrats to Heat 2 Winner  Mika Friebel and Runner-up Kathlharar Hunter. They are both off the the Summer Slam 19 Final at Jive on the 9th February.

Summer Slam 19 Heat 3 is at the Southwark Hotel on Saturday 19th January. Click here for details.

Summer Slam 19 – Heat 4

The Summer Slam is about introducing new people to slam poetry, about having some fun, about no ‘real’ pressure. No big prizes, no interstate trips: just good words and sharing.

Heat 4  brews up a storm at the The King’s Head Hotel
357 King William Street, Adelaide.

Thursday 31st January
Sign in from 6:30pm for 7:00pm start.


Remember:  original new work, 2 minutes only, one poem only, no props or fancy dress …  Click here to read all the rules…

Poetry book prizes for the heats generously donated by Wakefield Press. Summer Slam is also supported by Writers SA,Word Travels and ACW – Adelaide Championship Wrestling.

Click here for maps and more info.

Summer Slam 19 Heat 1 hits its straps

Heat 1 Runner-up Julia Henning and Winner Pam Makin

The Summer Slam 19 started off in fine fashion with 12 competitors in front of a packed house at the State Library of South Australia. Congrats to winner Pam Makin and runner-up Julia Henning.

There are still three heats to go before the final. Heat 2 is at the Broadcast Bar on Sunday 13th January. Click here for details.

Summer Slam 19 Heat 1 audience admiring the show…