SA Poetry Slam 2016: Heat 2, 26th August @ Salisbury Institute


kami scarf

Poetry slams are electric live events where the audience is the judge. Poets have 2 minutes to speak, scream, howl, whisper or sing their original poem for a chance at state and national glory.

Heat 2 is coming your way Friday, 26th August at the Salisbury Institute as part of this years Salisbury Writers’ Festival presented by the City of Salisbury.

$5 Entry / Door. Sign in at 6:30 for 7:00pm start.
$150 in prizes and two spots in the SA Final up for grabs.

Due to circumstances beyond Spoken Word SA’s control, Abe Nouk can no longer be our guest.  We are as disappointed as you, as is Abe, that for personal reasons he could not join us this weekend.  Filling the breach as guest poet will be Kami, two time Australian Poetry Slam finalist and winner of the Single Poet Collection Award at the 2010 Poetry Unleashed Festival.

Click here to see the event page for more details on the Rules for the Slam and how to find Salisbury Institute.

SA Poetry Slam 2016: Dates & Venues

Get yourselves up and ready to perform / judge / cheer the 2016 SA Poetry Slam!!

5 SA heats, then the State Final for the top two performers of each heat.

Heat 1   SA Writers Centre, Friday 19th August

Heat 2   Salisbury Institute,  Friday 26th August

Heat 3   State Library of SA,  Friday 2nd September

Heat 4   Woodcroft Library,  Friday 9th September

Heat 5   Jive, Friday 16th September

State Final Goodwood Institute/Theatre, Friday 30th September          

For all the details, click here and keep track of the events calendar.


SA Poetry Slam 2016 supported by:

Poetry Slams

2018 SA Poetry Slam Finalists

Spoken Word SA hosts the South Australian heats and final of the Australian Poetry Slam.

Contestants have 2 minutes to speak, scream, howl, whisper or sing their original poem. There are no props, no costumes, no music: just the poet and the words. Judges are selected at random from the audience. The heat winners compete again in the SA State Final and the two top finalists then go to the Australian Poetry Slam National Showcase and Final in Sydney.

Click here for info for the 2020 SA Slam.

Click here to read the rules for 2020.

Click here for answers to Frequently Asked Questions.


SA Poetry Slam supported by:


Previous SA Winners

2019    Emelia Haskey with runner-up, Caroline Reid

2018    Sarah Jane Justice with runner-up, Caroline Reid.

   2017    Andrew Drake with runner-up, Chiara Gabrielli.

   2016    Alison Bennett with runner-up, Jason Marsiglia.

   2015    Jason Marsiglia with runner-up, Tilde Wiese.

   2014    Amy Watson with runner-up, Roisin Murphy-Haines.

   2013    Gemma Boyd, with runner up, Manal Younus.


Check out some great SA Poetry Slam performances in our Gallery and on our YouTube channel.